INEC Declares NNPP Winner Of 2 State Assembly Seats

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP) as winner of the rerun elections in two out of the three state constituencies of Kano State.

The state constituencies were Kura/Garun Malam and Rimingado/Tofa.


The INEC returning officer of the election in Kura/Garun Malam, Prof. Shehu Musa Galadanchi, declared NNPP’s Alhassan Zakariya Ishaq as the winner of the rerun election.


Prof. Galadanchi announced Zakariya winner after polling 37,262 votes to beat Musa Hayatu Daurawar of All Progressive Congress (APC), who scored 30,803 votes.


More so, the INEC Returning Officer of the election in Rimingado/Tofa, Prof. Ibrahim Tajo Suraj, declared Alhaji Bello Muhammad Butu-Butu of NNPP as the winner of Saturday’s rerun election in the constituency.


Butu-Butu polled 31,135 votes to beat his opponent of APC, who scored 25,577 votes.


Meanwhile, with this development, the NNPP maintains the majority of seats in the the Kano State House of Assembly.


It would be recalled that INEC had suspended the election in Kunchi/Tsanyawa constituency following irregularities and violence that marred the election in the area.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.