Mali, Niger, Burkina Faso Quit ECOWAS Over Suspension


The military regimes in Mali, Niger Republic and Burkina Faso, have announced their immediate withdrawal membership of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) in protest to their suspension from the regional bloc.

The leaders of the three West African countries issued a statement on Sunday, saying it was their “sovereign decision” to leave the ECOWAS “without delay”.

Struggling with jihadist violence and poverty, the regimes have had tense ties with ECOWAS since coups took place in Niger on July 26, 2023, Burkina Faso in 2022 and Mali in 2020.

All three were suspended from ECOWAS, with Niger and Mali facing heavy sanctions.

Details Later…

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.