Minimum Wage Committee For Inauguration Tomorrow

Federal government will tomorrow inaugurate a 37-man Tripartite Committee on National Minimum Wage with a mandate to recommend a new minimum wage for the country.

In a statement released yesterday by the director of information in the Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (OSGF), Segun Imohiosen, he said the planned inauguration of the committee is sequel to the approval of President Bola Ahmed Tinubu.

He said the event is scheduled to hold tomorrow at the Presidential Villa.
According to him, the committee under the chairmanship of a former head of civil service of the federation, Bukar Goni Aji, has members from the federal government, state governments, private sector and the organised labour.

He said, “From the federal government, the members include Nkeiruka Onyejeocha, minister of state, labour and (representing the minister of labour and employment); Wale Edun, minister of finance and coordinating minister of the economy.
Others are “Atiku Bagudu, minister of budget, economic planning; Yemi Esan, head of civil service of the federation; Nnamdi Maurice Mbaeri, permanent secretary, GSO, OSGF and Ekpo Nta, chairman/CEO, NSIWC – member/secretary.

“Also from the state governments, Mohammed Umar Bago, governor, Niger State- representative from North Central; Senator Bala Mohammed, governor, Bauchi State – representative from North East; Alhaji Umar Dikko Radda, governor, Katsina State – representative from North West; Charles Soludo, governor, Anambra State- representative from the South East; Senator Ademola Adeleke, governor, Osun State- representative from South West; Otu Bassey Edet, governor, Cross River State – representative from South South.
“From the Nigeria Employers’ Consultative Association (NECA)- Adewale-Smatt Oyerinde, director-general, NECA; Chuma Nwankwo; Thompson Akpabio with also members from the Nigeria Association of Chambers of Commerce, Industry, Mines and Agriculture (NACCIMA) include Asiwaju (Dr) Michael Olawale-Cole, national president; Hon. (Dr) Ahmed Rabiu, national vice president and Chief Humphrey Ngonadi (NPOM), national life president,” he said.
Imohiosen added that the membership from the National Association of Small and Medium Enterprise (NASME) are Abdulrashid Yerima, president and chairman of council; Theophilus Nnorom Okwuchukwu, private sector representative; Dr. Muhammed Nura Bello, zonal vice president, North West.
Also from the Manufacturers Association of Nigeria (MAN) are Mrs. Grace Omo-Lamai, human resource director, Nigerian Breweries; Segun Ajayi-Kadir, director-general, MAN; Lady Ada Chukwudozie, managing director, Dozzy Oil and Gas Limited.

“From the organised labour, the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) Comrade Joe Ajaero, president, NLC; Comrade Emmanuel Ugboaja, Comrade Prince Adeyanju Adewale, Comrade Ambali Akeem Olatunji, Comrade Benjamin Anthony and Prof. Theophilius Ndukuba.
“Also, membership from the Trade Union Congress of Nigeria (TUC) include Comrade Festus Osifo, president, TUC; Comrade Tommy Etim Okon, deputy president I, TUC; Comrade Kayode Surajudeen Alakija, Deputy President II; Comrade Jimoh Oyibo, Deputy President. III; Comrade Nuhu A. Toro, secretary-general and Comrade Hafusatu Shuaib, chairperson Women Committe,” he added.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.